Compare · Last verified 2026-10-15

OpenAI Decisions vs Cloudflare Clef: pricing, limits, and which to use

Verdict

As of 2026-10-15, Cloudflare Clef-flash ($0.038/1M) undercuts the OpenAI Decisions API ($0.10/1M), while full Clef ($0.240/1M) costs more. Clef publishes context limits (24,576–65,536 tokens) and accepts video/audio (omni); OpenAI accepts text and images and publishes no context limit, but offers ZDR, HIPAA, and EU residency.

  • Pick OpenAI Decisions for: Enterprise data controls and teams already on OpenAI.
  • Pick Cloudflare Clef for: Edge/Workers deployments, audio/video state, and published limits.

Side-by-side

OpenAI Decisions APICloudflare Clef (Clef, Clef-flash, Clef-omni)
VendorOpenAICloudflare (Workers AI)
CategoryDecision modelDecision model
Price

$0.10 per 1M input tokens; no output, cache-read, or cache-write charges. [Verified 2026-10-15 against official page]

Regional processing premiums and long-context input multipliers apply (amounts not stated on the guide). [Verified 2026-10-15 against official page]

Clef $0.240, Clef-omni $0.150, Clef-flash $0.038 per 1M input tokens; no output-token charge. Media are converted to input tokens. [Verified 2026-10-15 on Cloudflare Workers AI pricing page (last updated Oct 9, 2026) and model pages]

Workers AI billing: $0.011 per 1,000 Neurons; 10,000 Neurons/day free on Free and Paid plans. [Verified 2026-10-15 against official page]

Limits

Context window and rate limits are not stated on the Decisions guide. [Unverified — not published on the page checked]

Context: Clef 65,536 tokens; Clef-flash 24,576; Clef-omni 64,000. [Verified 2026-10-15 on Cloudflare model pages]

Clef-omni: 1–64 questions; up to 4 images (4 MiB each), 4 audio clips, 2 videos (60 s each). Each image capped at 1,024 tokens. [Verified 2026-10-15 on clef-omni model page]

Status

Public beta; OpenAI says it expects GA "in the coming weeks". [Verified 2026-10-15 against official page]

Data controls: ZDR and HIPAA for eligible customers; data residency/regional processing in the US and Europe (EEA + Switzerland). [Verified 2026-10-15 against official page]

No published SLA, dated model snapshot, or deprecation schedule found for /v1/decisions. [Absence noted 2026-10-14/15; not confirmed against enterprise terms]

Listed on Workers AI model catalog and pricing page. [Verified 2026-10-15 against official page]

Fit notes
  • Good fit: classification, routing, prioritization, and review queues with app-owned thresholds set from your own labeled examples.
  • Only the alias gpt-6-luna is documented — behavior can change under you. Run a canary eval and log the model string on every call.
  • No rationale is returned; if users need an explanation, pair it with a generative model and human review.
  • OpenAI Usage Policies restrict automating high-stakes decisions in sensitive areas (e.g. critical infrastructure, product safety components, medical) without human review. Keep it advisory; never the sole authority.
  • Cheapest per-token hosted option here (Clef-flash) but with the smallest context; long text state is truncated to fit.
  • Test calibration and order sensitivity on your own labels; vendor pages publish no accuracy figure.

FAQ

Which is cheaper?

Clef-flash at $0.038 per 1M input tokens; OpenAI Decisions is $0.10; full Clef is $0.240 (as of 2026-10-15).

Which accepts video or audio?

Cloudflare Clef accepts video, and Clef-omni accepts audio. The OpenAI Decisions API accepts text and base64 images.

Are context limits published?

Clef: 65,536 (Clef), 24,576 (Clef-flash), 64,000 (Clef-omni). OpenAI does not state a context window on its Decisions guide.

Methodology

Every fact in the table is copied from the vendor's official page (or OpenRouter where noted) and labeled with the date it was last verified. Items we could not confirm are marked unverified. Prices are list prices per 1M input tokens before regional or volume adjustments. See our methodology.

Sources (checked 2026-10-15)

More comparisons